About us

LogoAbout Us

Tewkesbury Town Council is a parish level local authority serving a population of approximately 10,000 people in Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire.

It is composed of 16 councillors elected or co-opted to 4 year terms within the wards of Newtown (3 Councillors), Tewkesbury North (5 Councillors) and Tewkesbury South (8 Councillors).

Local authorities were first created by statute in 1894 and our most significant responsibility is to represent the community and serve all elements within it as we try to get the best results for everyone. As a parish council Tewkesbury Town Council is the first tier of local government and the one closest to the people.

We also have a responsibility to engage in partnership working with Tewkesbury Borough Council and Gloucestershire County Council.

Each year the Town Council receives a share of the council tax collected by Tewkesbury Borough Council, referred to as a ‘precept’.  The Town Council’s budget responsibility is split across six committees for day to day activity of the Town Council.  Budget reports are reviewed at each committee meeting and the Finance Committee reviews the overall financial position of the Town Council at each meeting ahead of the Full Council meeting.  The Town Council has a five year strategic plan covering the period from 2024 to 2029 which was approved by Full Council at the end of 2023 and underpins the Council’s plans and activities through the various committees.  The strategic plan can be accessed through our documents section under policies.

Details of these committee decisions and the councillors who make them can be found in the agendas and minutes for each meeting. Further details of our assets, financial position, and policies are also available on this site.

Our latest annual report can be found here: Annual Report 2022-23


Our Responsibilities

  • Town Hall
  • George Watson Memorial Hall
  • Tewkesbury Museum
  • Public Toilets at Gloucester Road and Oldbury Road (Spring Gardens)
  • Saffron Road Rehearsal Room (leased to Tewkesbury Town Band)
  • Playparks – Derek Graham, Warwick Place and Mitton (not the MUGA)
  • War Memorial at The Cross
  • Moorings at Back of Avon, Priors Court & St Mary’s Road
  • The Severn Ham (not responsible for livestock grazing)
  • Public Clocks
  • Town Centre CCTV
  • Bus Shelters
  • Dog Bins
  • Litter Bins
  • Grants to local community groups
  • Consultee on planning applications


Responsibilities of Other Councils:

Tewkesbury Borough Council 

Tewkesbury BC
Visit Website
01684 295010


  • Waste Collection including bulky items
  • Recycling
  • Street Cleansing
  • Emptying litter and dog bins
  • Council Tax collection
  • Housing
  • Planning
  • Community Transport
  • Tewkesbury Leisure Centre
  • Town Centre Car Parks
  • Conservation
  • Graveyards

Gloucestershire County Council

Visit Website
01452 425000


  • Education
  • Transport
  • Fire & Public Safety
  • Social Care
  • Libraries
  • Waste Management
  • Trading Standards
  • Archives
  • Public Rights of Way
  • Road maintenance
  • Street Lighting
Tewkesbury Town Council